#OWSCyCon2019 Author Spotlight

As part of the build-up to OWSCyCon2019, I want to introduce you to some of the amazing volunteers and authors taking part in the event. If it wasn’t for the volunteers, there could be no CyCon, and I’m grateful to every single one of them for giving up their time to make this happen. But by the same token, without the authors taking part in the event, we wouldn’t be able to bring you the amazing events that we have planned. So without further delay…

Meet L. E. Harrison

Participating Author

Author Spotlight - LE Harrison

L.E. Harrison is the author of the contemporary fantasy trilogy the Children Of Corvus, as well as a collection of previously published poems and short stories. She decided she wanted to be an author in the fourth grade, when she began writing poetry, plays, and stories. A lifelong avid reader and lover of genre fiction—from science fiction to paranormal romance, and everything in between—she’s inspired by books that blur the boundaries, and by the authors who manage to do it exceptionally well. She lives in an hundred-sixty-year-old farmhouse in rural Pennsylvania, where she is busy working on the next chapter in the universe of Soluna’s children.

What Genres Do You Write In?

Why Don't You Start By Sharing A Little About Yourself

My name is L.E. Harrison. I’m a grandmother, and the mother of three grown children. I’ve been married to a wonderful, supportive man for thirty-three years, and live in an hundred sixty year-old farmhouse in the heart of Amish/Mennonite country.

Could you tell us a bit about your latest book?

Children of Corvus - Series

THE CHILDREN OF CORVUS SERIES
By L.E. Harrison
Protected by the Great Shield, the tribe lives united in their love and reverence for the god, Corvus. The god of beasts had once bestowed a sacred gift, the ability to transform into the divine entity known as Bestiae, upon the males of this tribe. Inbreeding with humans has caused the gift to become diluted and corrupted. The power of transformation has not been completely eliminated. What remains triggers a curse the Sacred Order calls the blood madness. Corvus’s Sacred Law proclaims that to guarantee the blood madness will not be passed to future generations, every male with the curse must be executed.

Who is your intended readership?

Fans of Urban Fantasy and Paranormal fiction.

When did you realize you wanted to be a writer?

I’ve always loved reading fiction. As a kid, I spent most of time in libraries. The annual book fair was the highlight of the school year. I began writing poems and stories around fourth grade. I remember writing plays, then forcing my siblings and friends to act them out with me. It wasn’t until around seventh grade, when I read The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, that I began to think seriously about writing a novel.

Do you have a favorite author, or writing inspiration?

Carol Berg writes flawless prose and characters that leap off the page. I’ve read all of her books at least twice. Jennifer Roberson’s Sword Dancer series is amazing. Reading her books made me want to write in the fantasy genre. I was obsessed with Stephen King novels for many years. The Stand and 11/22/63 are favorites of his. I also love the character Lestat, from Anne Rice’s Vampire Chronicles. Anne Bishop’s Black Jewels series is a must read for fans of dark fantasy. For science fiction, you can’t find anyone better than Connie Willis. Judith Merlke Riley is simply brilliant. I’m also a huge fan of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series, Jeff Vandermeer’s South Reach Trilogy, and The Black Witch Chronicles by Laurie Forest. The list goes on, but that’s a sampling of the authors I enjoy reading.

What advice would you give beginning writers?

Stay true to your vision of what you want your novel to be, and push through whenever you feel like giving up. Remember the reason you started your book, and try to bring that passion and excitement into your writing. Write the book you want to read. You are your first audience, so if you’re not entertained and moved by emotion, your readers won’t be either.

Do you have any amusing writing stories or anecdotes to share?

When I began this series, there were certain things I knew about the geographical area where my characters lived. The first, was that it was mostly primordial forest that was magically hidden from the rest of the modern world. The second, was its name: Blackwater Hills. There was a river that my characters called the Blackwater River, which ran through the center of their shielded territory. The third thing I was certain of, was that it was located in Maine, USA.

When I resolved to get serious about actually finishing the story, I began to research maps and towns in northern Maine. A few miles south of a small town called Ashland, I found a spot that seemed to match the terrain and location I had previously only seen in my imagination. I was shocked to discover that a river named the Blackwater River ran right through the spot I had chosen on the map! I haven’t visited Ashland or the actual river yet, but I do plan on taking a trip there soon.

I did visit Acadia National Park in Maine while writing Blackbird, the first book in the series. On the way, I happened to stop at a place called America’s Stonehenge, located in New Hampshire, which became the basis for Mystery Hill—the rock labyrinth and circle of standing stones where the priests of the Sacred Order perform their rituals.

What do you like to do when you're not writing? Any hobbies?

I like to travel as often as I can—visiting family on the west coast, hiking in National Parks, or hanging out in Las Vegas. I make sure to attend a yoga class at least once a week. Otherwise, I’m usually at home reading a book!

What’s your next project? Any upcoming book secrets you care to reveal?

Right now I’m working on a novella duet set in the same universe as The Children of Corvus series, focusing on the descendants of Venefica, the Witch Goddess. In addition, audio books are in production for The Children of Corvus Trilogy, and should be completed sometime in May 2019.

Merula

The Children of Corvus Book Two

  • One of Indie Author Land’s (Read Freely) 50 Best Indie Books of 2017
  • An IHIBRP 5-Star Recommended Read
  • Winner of the 2018 Virtual Fantasy Con Award for Best Dark Fantasy

What if you were a shapeshifter, but didn’t know it?
What if the man who raised you orchestrated your father’s execution?
What if you discover that the people closest to you have been lying to you all your life?

On a cold October morning in Blackwater Hills, Samuel Singleton steps outside to do his morning chores and is whisked through a portal into the domain of the witch goddess known as the Shadowlands.

On a cold October evening, Cadie Maxwell, a priestess newly sworn to the Sacred Order follows what she believes is the will of the gods, flees the only home she has ever known, and embarks on a quest to find the real truth about her tribe’s Sacred Law–a law that demands that any male cursed with shapeshifting powers must be executed.

With limited knowledge of the world beyond Blackwater Hills, Cadie arrives in a small town called Ashland. She takes a job at a local bar and grill where she hears Jonathan and Sarina Lance discussing their missing father, best-selling novelist J. Lance Sr..

Cadie, Jonathan, and Sarina join forces with an eager, up-and-coming reporter on an expedition through the mysterious forest to rescue J. Lance Sr..

Cadie guides the outsiders through the Great Shield (a powerful force-field that that protects her homeland) but things do not progress the way any of them expect. Anxious to find her father, Sarina breaks off from the group. The others chase after her, but find Samuel–naked and disoriented– instead.

Cadie discovers that Samuel is cursed with the shapeshifting power, and to her dismay, the council of priests votes to put her in charge of Samuel’s execution. In order to save Samuel’s life and get her friends safely back to Ashland, Cadie must expose the corruption within the priesthood, forswear her holy vows, and uncover the real truth about her gods and her tribe.

Follow L.E. Harrison

Share This Author Spotlight With A Friend

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr
Share on email

Similar Posts You Might Like

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr
Share on email

Support The Blog

Help me keep connecting readers with amazing authors and books.

Download the Brave browser, and faster, securer, more private browsing.

Receive Updates

Categories

Tags

Comments

Leave A Reply

avatar

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  Subscribe  
Notify of